Monday, January 4, 2010


BFC President, Larry Quilling, presenting a framed BFC poster to project chair, Roger Svendsen for his leadership in the Roger's Park project. Bob Bush offered his support to this presentation.

On December 10th, Boulder Flycasters won the Boulder County’s “Pinnacle Award” for 2009 in the Public Involvement category. There were six categories with awards given in each category. Only one category was open to county departments and public groups like BFC.

Will Toor described each of the projects in our category and we were announced as the winners. It was a packed Commissioners Hearing Room with a few hundred viewers both in the room and also broadcast over the county internet hook-up.

Boulder Flycaster’s were represented by project chairman, Roger Svendsen, and project board members, Michael Stein and Bob Bush who were called up to the front along with eight or nine Bldr. County employees to receive the award. Ron Stewart, Director of Parks and Open Space, said a few words, then Claire DeLeo, county project coordinator, said a few words. Roger then expressed appreciation to the County for sharing the award with BFC. The project sponsor (Bldr. Cnty.), represented by Claire, was presented with a large framed picture.

Roger later found out that we also had been nominated and awarded the “Blue Grama Award” by the Colorado Open Space Alliance.

Basically, it is an Ecological Management Program Award – Given to an open space program that has demonstrated leadership in the area of Ecological Management. It recognizes outstanding, innovative and successful research, restoration, or monitoring programs targeted at ecological resource management.

We are hoping that we will know much more about this award in the coming months.

Boulder Flycasters is excited to receive both awards and it shows that we are moving in the right direction with our conservation efforts for projects that really mean a difference to the Boulder Creek watershed!

Written by Bob Bush with contributions from Roger Svendsen and Claire DeLeo.

No comments:

Post a Comment